Who are we?


The Music Association (MA) was established in 1976 by a group of students enthusiastic in participating and promoting music in the school. Before 1976, the Students' Association played the major role of organising and promoting music activities. With the increasing importance of cultural activities in Hong Kong, the school authorities realised that there was a pressing need for a specific organisation responsible for the promotion of music at school, thus procure the establishment of the MA.

The role of the MA is to facilitate the cooperation among these sections and motivate our schoolmates to develop interests in learning and performing music.


Dr Chan Ka Hei Lesley

Head of Music Department

An experienced choral conductor, Chan has achieved success in many international choral festivals. Recently, at the 17th International Choral Kathaumixw, Canada, he conducted the Wah Yan College Kowloon Boys' Choir which won three first prizes and the 'Choir of the World' title as the overall Champion. The choir has also awarded the Grand Prix First Prize at the 34th Takarazuka Chamber Choir Contest in Summer 2018.

He made his debut as opera chorus master in the 2016 Musica Viva production of Carmen, for which his work won critical appreciation, followed by La Boheme in 2017 and Madama Butterfly in 2018.

Chan's devotion to music education is admired internationally through his lectures in many overseas cities. An active composer, he has works published by the Hong Kong Composers' Guild and performed by St. Jacob’s Choir of Sweden. He collaborates with many eminent composers.

Chan graduated from the University of Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts and obtained his Master of Music degree in historical musicology from the University of London. He holds a doctorate in music from the Chinese University of Hong Kong. He is the conductor-in-residence of the Pro-Musica Society Hong Kong.


Mr Yeung Long Ting Ronald

Music teacher

Yeung graduated from the Education University of Hong Kong, majoring in Music Education. He has led choirs attending various competitions and performances in the past 10 years and attained numerous awards. Examples include the Grand Champion and the Best Conductor Award in the 3rd Hong Kong International Youth and Children's Choir Festival, Gold Medal in the 8th World Choir Games, Gold Award in the Hong Kong Inter-School Choral Festival, champion of category competition of the Hong Kong Schools Music Festival etc.

Yeung is currently a music teacher of Wah Yan College, Kowloon, conductor of The Greeners’ Sound and the Allegro Singers, and member of the local youth vocal ensemble "Signo".

"Without music, life would be a mistake." -- Friedrich Nietzsche

Teacher Advisors

Mr. Chung Wai Leung Warren

Ms. Chow Tsz Sze Cecilia

Mr. Wai Wing Ying Eric

Dr. Chan Ka Hei Lesley

Mr. Cheung Tai Chiu

Ms. Chow Janne C.

Mr. Ho Wai Shun Vincent

Ms. Lam Lok Yan Joyce

Mr. Lee Han Kin Eugene

Mr. Yeung Long Ting Ronald

Executive Committee

President: Ryan Chan Yat-chung (5C)

Internal Vice-president: Leo Paau Ho-ming (5C)

External Vice-president: Kelvin Lai Kai-hon (5C)

General secretary: Andrew Lam Chak-hei (5C)

Internal secretaries: Ian Lam Yat-yin (3J), Jeremy Chan Yui-hei (4C), Adan Chao Man-hin (4K), Hinsley Lam Pak-hin (5C)

External secretaries: Hanson Chan Ying-hang (3W), Issac Yiu Pak-hei (3W), Joshua Lau Cheuk-yin (4S), Toto Chan Chun-to (5K)

Financial secretary: Gordy Tam Lok-man (5W)

Publicity secretaries: Kenneth Hui Yi-kin (2K), William Leung (5W), Eric Yeung Wing-kin (5J)

Chairman of Senior Choir: Jacky Wong Lok-yin (5K)

Chairman of Intermediate Choir: Thomas Yip Pak-hin (4Y)

Chairman of Junior Choir: Colman Chan Wai-yin (3Y)

Chairman of Chinese Orchestra: Jeffrey Lau Wan-king (5Y)

Chairman of String Orchestra: Phillip Kwok Ching-lung (5W)

Chairman of Wind Band: Alfred Lam Long (4Y)

Chairman of Symphony Orchestra: Ancus Chan Yin-hei (5C)

Chairman of Chamber String Group: Nick Lee Lik-hang (4K)

Chairman of Piano Accompanist Group: Martin Suen Ming-chi (4K)

Chairman of Pop Music Society: Anthony Lau Chun-sing (5J)